Banner Image

This placeholder text is not visible on your website

Te Tītoki Mataora Forum Day 3

Wednesday 26th June, 2024

Aquamarine Room, Level 1, The Hilton Auckland. 

 Time  Session
 9:30 am WELCOME
 9:35 am


Safety First! Commercialising a molecular safety switch for cell therapies
Dr Patricia Rubio-Reyes, Malaghan Institute

 10:00 am Medtech-iQ Aotearoa Partnerships

Join two Medtech-iQ Aotearoa regional hubs to discuss their local partnerships and priorities. 

  • Medtech-iQ Te Whanganui-a-Tara
    Presented by Rodney Adank, Associate Professor at Massey University.
  • Medtech-iQ Waitaha
    Presented by Pip Griffin, Executive Officer of Te Papa Hauora the Christchurch Health Precinct. 
 10:35 am Morning Tea

 11:00 am 


Panel: Successful Community Collaboration
Join us for a conversation about what it means to collaborate successfully with communities.

  • Dr Hamid Abbasi (facilitator), Auckland Bioengineering Institute
  • Professor Tahu Kukutai FRSNZ, Nga Pae o te Māramatanga
  • Dr Fuafiva Fa'alau, University of Auckland
  • Dr Jo Nunnerley, University of Otago 

CMDT Awards
The CMDT Early-Career Researcher Awards recognises PhD students and ECRs engaged in research and development of medical technologies. Applicants with well-written abstracts are invited to give a 3-minute elevator pitch of their research.

 12:30 pm  Lunch & poster presentations

 1:30 pm

Fireside Chat
Join us for a conversation with Ju Zhang, CEO and founder of Formus Labs, a University of Auckland spin-out company with the world's first AI-automated 3D planner for joint replacement surgeries.

Verbal Consent
Dr Grace Walker and Lucy Jessep, University of Canterbury

Building an accessible health information service
Leo Goldie-Anderson, Te Whatu Ora and Mischa Saunders, Ackama

Roundtable discussions: Where do you sit on the Te Tītoki Mataora Pathway?

 3:00 pm Afternoon Tea

 3:30 pm 


Panel: Funding your research and commercialisation

  • Dr Haruna Suzuki-Kerr (facilitator), University of Auckland
  • Anna King, Auckland Medical Research Foundation
  • Duncan Ledwith, University of Auckland
  • John Godfrey, Consultant

Panel: Balancing Commercialisation and Academia

  • Byron van Vugt (facilitator), NZGCP
  • Dr Heba Khamis, CEO and Founder of Contactile
  • Dist Prof Maggie-Lee Huckabee, University of Canterbury
  • Dr Sarah-Jane Guild, Preclinical scientist at Kitea Health

Announcement of CMDT Award Winners

 5:00 pm CLOSING


Forgot password?
Create an Account